Real Madrid have won more European Cups & Champions Leagues than any other team
European Cup & Champions League Finals 1955-56 to 2008-09
Table showing every European Cup & Champions League final from 1956 to 2008
Sir Matt Busby's Manchester United won the 1968 European Cup
Kevin Keegan - the first Englishman to feature in a European Cup final for a foreign team
Alfredo Di Stefano - Real Madrid & Argentina
Liverpool's Bruce Grobbelaar - the first African to play in a European Cup Final
Tottenham won Britain's first major European trophy in 1963
Barcelona have won the ECWC a record 4 times
European Cup & Champions League
Last 4 1955-56 to 2008-09
Chart detailing every club which has reached the Semi-Finals of the European Cup & Champions League since 1955.
European Cup & Champions League Foreigners in Finals
Table showing how many foreigners have participated in European Cup & Champions League Finals since 1955
European Cup & Champions League Foreigners by Nations
Tables showing how many foreigners by Nations have participated in European Cup & Champions League Finals, together with total Nationalities.
European Cup & Champions League Foreigners Chart
Chart showing the rise of foreign participation in European Cup & Champions League Finals over the years of the competitions.
European Cup Winners' Cup Finals
1960-61 to 1998-99
Table showing every European Cup Winners' Cup final from 1960-61 to 1998-98, when the
competition was dropped by UEFA.
European Cup Winners' Cup Last 4
1960-61 to 1998-99
Chart detailing every club which has reached the Semi-Finals of the European Cup Winners' Cup during the competition's history.
Leeds United's Billy Bremner with the Fairs Cup.
Inter Milan have the best record in the UEFA Cup
Tottenham Hotspur celebrate their second UEFA Cup trophy
Bayern Munich are third in the all-time Last 4 places list behind Real Madrid & Barcelona
Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Finals
1955-58 to 1970-71
Table showing every Inter-Cities Fairs Cup final from 1955-58 to 1970-71. This competition is not considered to be a major tournament by UEFA.
UEFA Cup Finals
1971-72 to 2008-09
Table showing every UEFA Cup final from 1971-72 to Shakhtar Donetsk's win in 2008-09.
UEFA Cup Last 4
1971-72 to 2008-09
Chart detailing every club which has reached the Semi-Final of the UEFA Cup from 1972 to 2009.
Major European Club Competitions
Last 4 1955-56 to 2008-09
Chart detailing every club who has reached the Semi-Finals in every major UEFA club competition from 1955-56 to 2008-09.
The UEFA Champions League trophy
The UEFA Cup trophy

The tournament was inaugurated in 1955, at the suggestion of the French sports journalist and editor of L'Équipe Gabriel Hanot as a continental competition for winners of the European national football leagues, as the European Champion Clubs' Cup, abbreviated to European Cup.

The competition began as the 1955/56 using a two-leg knockout format where the teams would play two matches, one at home and one away, and the team with the highest overall score qualifying for the next round of the competition. Entry was restricted to the teams that won their national league championships, plus the current European Cup holder. This qualification system continued until 1992. In the 1992–93 season, the tournament was renamed UEFA Champions League and in 1997/98, eligibility was expanded to include not just domestic champions but also the best performing runners up according to UEFA's coefficient ranking list.

Between 1960 and 2004 the winner of the tournament qualified for the now defunct Intercontinental Cup against the winner of the Copa Libertadores of South America. Since then, with FIFA taking over, the winner automatically qualifies for the FIFA Club World Cup with other winners of continental club championships.

The 2008-09 Champions League Final was won by Barcelona who beat Manchester United 2-0 in the Olympic Stadium in Rome.

Spanish clubs have now won Europe's top club prize 12 times, which is once more than both Italy and England.

The UEFA Cup Winners' Cup (also known as the European Cup Winners' Cup) was a football club competition contested annually by the most recent winners of all European domestic cup competitions. The first competition was held in the 1960/61 season, and the last in 1998/99. The competition was then abolished to make way for a further expansion to the UEFA Champions League, with domestic cup winners gaining entry into the UEFA Cup.

The Inter-Cities Fairs Cup was a European football competition played between 1955 and 1971. As the name suggests, the competition was set up to promote international trade fairs. The competition was initially only open to teams from cities that hosted trade fairs and where these teams finished in their national league had no relevance. Early competitions also featured a one city, one team rule. UEFA do not consider the tournament to be an official UEFA contest.

The UEFA Cup was a football competition for European club teams, organised by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). It is the second most important international competition for European football clubs, after the UEFA Champions League. Clubs qualify for the UEFA Cup based on their performance in national leagues and cup competitions.

The last ever winners of the UEFA Cup were the Ukrainian club Shahkter Donetsk who beat Germans Werder Bremen.
UEFA has decided to re-name the UEFA Cup the 'UEFA Europa League' from the 2009-2010 season onwards.

UEFA European Club Competitions 1955-56 to 2008-09

1991 Mitropa Cup Final ticket
Mitropa / Zentropa Cup 1927-1992
Table detailing the winning clubs and nationalities of Europe's first international competition together with a detailed history of the tournament.
The Mitropa Cup, officially called the La Coupe de l'Europe Centrale was one of the first really international major European football cups for club sides. After World War II in 1951 a replacement tournament named Zentropa Cup was held.
Manchester United 1968 European Champions
European Cup & Champions League
Last 8 1955-56 to 2008-09
Chart detailing every club which has reached the Quarter-Finals of the European Cup & Champions League since 1955.
Barcelona 2009 European Champions League winners
Search MyFootballFacts
Custom Search
Follow MyFootballFacts