Search My Football Facts & Stats

                                                                                                   Web site designed & hosted by Paul Yarden © 2015 at Homestead™
UEFA Under-21 Championships 1978 to Israel 2013
UEFA Under-21 Championships 1978 to Israel 2013
Details of the UEFA U-21 Championships from 1978 to 2013 with full match details of the Israel 2013 tournament.
The draw for the group stage of qualifying for the 2013 UEFA European Under-21 Championship took place on 3 February in Nyon, Switzerland. 52 national teams took part in
qualifying. The group stage of qualifying began on 25 March 2011. There were a total of ten groups, consist five or six teams each.
All the teams in each group faced each other twice, at home and away. The team at the top of each group and the four best second-placed teams qualified to the playoff round.
In the playoff round, the 14 teams were drawn to 7 two legged matches.
The 7 winners joined Israel in the tournament finals.
Italy - Five Times UEFA U21 Champions
UEFA U-21 Championship Trophy
Action from UEFA U-21 Championships 2011 Spain 1-1 England
Spain - UEFA U-21 Champions 2011
UEFA U-21 Israel 2013
England Goalscorers
(26 goals scored)
5 goals  Craig Dawson
4 goals  Henri Lansbury
4 goals  Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
2 goals  Steven Caulker
2 goals  Gary Gardner
2 goals  Jordan Henderson
2 goals  Martin Kelly
2 goals  Connor Wickham
1 goal    Jonjo Shelvey
1 goal    Marvin Sordell
1 goal    Martyn Waghorn
UEFA U-21 Israel 2013 Dates
14th September 2012: Play-off draw (Nyon, Switzerland)
12th-16th October 2012: Play-offs
28th November 2012: Final tournament draw (Israel)
5th-18th June 2013: Final tournament (Israel)
England U21 Squad for Serbia Play-Offs
Ben Amos (Hull City - loan from Man United), Jack Butland (Birmingham City), Declan Rudd (Norwich City), Jason Steele (Middlesbrough).
Ryan Bennett (Norwich City), Steven Caulker (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathaniel Clyne (Southampton), Craig Dawson (WBA), Tom Lees (Leeds United), Jack Rodwell (Man City), Danny Rose (Sunderland - loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Adam Smith (Tottenham Hotspur), Andre Wisdom (Liverpool).
Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Tom Ince (Blackpool), Henri Lansbury (Nottingham Forest), Jason Lowe (Blackburn Rovers), Josh McEachran (Middlesbrough - loan from Chelsea), Nick Powell (Man United), Jonjo Shelvey (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace)
Nathan Delfouneso (Blackpool - loan from Aston Villa), Marvin Sordell (Bolton Wanderers), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur),  Connor Wickham (Sunderland).
Englands Jack Rodwell in action against Serbia
Israel as host Nation and Spain are both seeded with England and the Netherlands second seeds.
The remaining four countries are unseeded. The draw took place on 28th November in Tel Aviv.
UEFA U-21 Championship Finals Israel 2013 team logos
Official Match Ball
U21 action between Israel & Italy
U21 action between England & Norway