Robbie Keane
Tottenham Hotspur 1960-61 Football League Champions & FA Cup winners - the first team to complete the "Double" in the 20th Century

Tottenham Hotspur v Leicester City Match History & Records 1914-2018

Search My Football Facts & Stats

                                                                                            Web site designed & hosted by Paul Yarden © 2018 at Homestead™
Link to Tottenham Hotspur Supporters Site
Link to Glory Glory site
Link to The Fighting Cock Spurs site
Tottenham Hotspur v Leicester City Match History & Records 1914-2018

Leicester were founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse by old schoolboys from Wyggeston School, joining the Football Association in 1890. They moved to Filbert Street in 1891 and were elected to the Second
Division of the Football League in 1894. They won promotion to Division One in 1908-09, the same season in which Tottenham Hotspur joined the Football League in Division Two.
The first meeting between the clubs came in the first round of the FA Cup (today's third round) in January 1914 at Filbert Street and ended in an astonishing 5-5 draw. Spurs won the replay 2-0 at White Hart Lane.
Financial difficulties before World War One forced Leicester Fosse to fold and the club was restructure under the new name of Leicester City. The first League meeting with Spurs came in September 1919
at the Lane in Division Two with Tottenham winning 4-0. The reverse fixture was also won by Spurs 4-2.
The next meeting came in Division One in October 1925 with the Foxes winning 5-3 at Filbert Street and completing the double with a 3-1 win at the Lane in March 1926.
The clubs met for four more seasons in the Top Flight and two seasons in Division Two before League football was suspended during World War Two.
Four games were played during the War years and when the League resumed the clubs played for four more seasons in the Second Division before Spurs won promotion in the 1949-50 season.
Every League encounter from the 1954-55 season onwards between Spurs & Leicester has been in the Top Flight.
The 1960-61 FA Cup Final at Wembley saw Tottenham beat Leicester 2-0 with goals from Bobby Smith and Terry Dyson to complete the League & Cup "Double" for the first time in the 20th Century.
The clubs participated in the 1977 pre-season Nolia Cup in Sweden with Spurs winning 2-1.
Spurs were founder members of the Premier League in 1992-93 but the first game against Leicester only came in September 1994 with the Foxes winning 3-1.
Tottenham won their second Wembley Final against Leicester when they finished 1-0 winners in the 1999 Football League Cup Final with Alan Nielsen grabbing the only goal.
In 2002, Leicester moved from Filbert Street into their new home, which was first called Filbert Way and then Walkers Stadium. It was re-named King Power Stadium in August 2010.
Leicester have had the better record in the 20 Premier League games played so far with 9 wins to Tottenham's 7 with the other 4 games drawn.
The clubs met in the FA Cup third round in January 2006 with Leicester winning 3-2 on home soil.
The Premier League meeting on Boxing Day 2014 at the King Power Stadium resulted in a 2-1 win for Spurs. Harry Kane scored Tottenham's first from a Nacer Chadli cross almost from the kick-off. Leonardo Ulloa pulled things level for Leicester after 48 minutes but Christian Eriksen completed the scoring with a 71st minute goal.
Leicester City won the FA Cup 4th Round match at the Lane in January 2015 2-1. Andros Townsend put Spurs ahead after 19 minutes from the penalty spot but late goals from Leonardo Ulloa and Jeffrey Schlupp ensured the Foxes progressed in the competition. Harry Kane's first Premier League hat-trick helped Spurs to a 4-3 win over Leicester at the Lane in March 2015. Jamie Vardy, Wes Morgan & David Nugent scored for the Foxes with a Jeff Schlupp own goal.
Spurs striker Harry Kane had a loan spell with Leicester City in 2013 making 13 appearances for the Foxes and scoring 2 goals. The Premier League game at KP Stadium in August 2015 was drawn 1-1 with Dele Alli putting Spurs ahead after 81 minutes only for Riyad Mahrez to immediately equalise for Leicester.
The FA Cup Third Round game on 10th January 2016 ended in a 2-2 draw with Christian Eriksen putting Spurs up after 8 minutes. Leicester equalised through Marcin Wasilewski's header after 19 minutes and went ahead after Shinji Okazaki scored just after the break. A late penalty from Harry Kane forced a replay at the KP Stadium.
Three days later, Leicester beat Spurs at the Lane in the Premier League with Robert Huth securing the points for the Foxes with a late header.
A week later, Spurs beat Leicester 2-0 in the FA Cup replay at the KP Stadium with Heung-min Son and Nacer Chadli getting the goals. Leicester ended the season as 2016-17 Premier League Champions.
Vincent Janssen put Spurs ahead with a penalty shortly before halftime in the Premier League game at the Lane in October 2016 but Ahmed Musa scored for Leicester early in the second half to get the draw.
Tottenham were in very fine form when they visited Leicester for the Premier League game in May 2017 winning 6-1 with four goals from Harry Kane and a brace from Heung-min Son with Ben Chilwell scoring for the Foxes.
Overall, Spurs have won 58 of the 114 games played with Leicester winning 35 and the remaining 21 matches drawn.
Tottenham 2-0 Leicester City, 1961 FA Cup Final
Tottenham 2-0 Leicester City, 1961 FA Cup Final
They Played for Spurs & Foxes...

Ben Alnwick
Joe Barlow
Tommy Clay
Stephen Clemence
Terry Fenwick
Les Ferdinand
Steffen Freund
Márton Fülöp
Ricky Hill (Spurs coach, City player)
Jimmy Holmes
Percy Humphries
Harry Kane
Kasey Keller
Paul Konchesky
Bill Lane
Billy Leech
Gary Lineker
Jim Milliken
Fred Milnes
Paul Moran
Kyle Naughton
Taffy O'Callaghan
David Pleat (manager with both clubs)
Tom Roberts
Buchanan Sharp
Harry Sparrow
Cyril Spiers (Spurs player, City coach)
Peter Taylor (Spurs player, City manager)
Ben Thatcher
Ian Walker
Ralph Ward
Keith Weller
Mark Yeates
1999 League Cup Final
They Played for Spurs & Leicester