South American Soccer
South American Championship Football
South American Soccer
South American Championship / Copa America Progress Chart
Chart showing all the Copa America last 4
countries from 1916 to 2016
South American Championship / Copa America Order of Merit
Chart showing all the Copa America countries
in Order of Merit from 1916 to 2016
South American Championship / Copa America Champions
Chart showing all the Copa America
Champions from 1916 to 2016
South American Football
Copa Libertadores Finals Stats
1960 to 2015
Chart showing all the Copa Libertadores Finals from 1960 to 2015.
Copa Libertadores Order of Merit Stats
Table which details the Order of Merit for all clubs who have reached the Finals of the Copa Libertadores from 1960 to 2015.

The Copa América (Spanish and Portuguese for "America Cup") is the main football competition of the men's national football teams governed by CONMEBOL, the South American football confederation. It is the oldest surviving international tournament in the world starting in 1916.
The participating nations are Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. Two invited teams from other confederations complete the twelve team tournament: Mexico has been a regular since they were invited for the first time in 1993.  There is no qualification stage: all ten CONMEBOL teams compete by right, and others by invitation. The highest finishing member of CONMEBOL has the right to participate in the next edition of the FIFA Confederations Cup, but is not obliged to do so.
The Copa América is the oldest surviving international football competition in the world. It was held for the first time between July 2 and July 17, 1916 and won by Uruguay, as part of the commemorations of Argentina's independence centenary. CONMEBOL was founded during this event, on July 9 (Argentina's independence day).
It was normally held every two years (though the intervals sometimes changed) until 2007, when CONMEBOL decided that the tournament would henceforth be held every four years, although provision was made for extraordinary stagings of the tournament if the ten national football federations wish it. The tournament was previously known as Campeonato Sudamericano de Selecciones (South American Championship of National Teams). South American Championship of Nations was the official English language name.
In 1984, CONMEBOL adopted the policy of rotating the right to host the Copa América amongst the ten member confederations.
The first rotation has now been completed following the Copa América 2007 which took place in Venezuela. A second rotation has been agreed to begin in 2011, with host countries rotating in alphabetical order, starting with Argentina. Since 1993, two teams from other confederations, usually from CONCACAF whose members are geographically and culturally close, are also invited.

Since the 1910s, the champions of the top flight leagues from Argentina and Uruguay would contest the Copa Río de La Plata; the success of which ignited the idea to organize a continental competition in the 1930s. The first edition of a continental club competition, the South American Club Championship, was held in 1948, competed by the champions of the first division of the previous year from all the CONMEBOL member countries.
It was held in Santiago, Chile and won by Brazilian champions Vasco da Gama. This tournament is considered by CONMEBOL as the forerunner of the Copa Libertadores though it was not held again in the following year.Finally, in 1958, the foundation of a second edition continental club competition was laid down. The competition was named Copa Libertadores, in order to give tribute to the liberators in South American history, and was first contested in 1960.
The first session of the tournament was held in 1960 with seven teams participating. Uruguayan champions Peñarol defeated Paraguayan team Olimpia in the final and were crowned the first champions of the competition. San Lorenzo of Argentina are the current winners, having beaten Nacional of Paraguay in the 2014 Final.

South American Club & International Football
Peru League
Champions Stats
1911-12 to 2014-15
Chile League
Champions Stats
1932-33 to 2014-15
South American Football
Search My Football Facts & Stats

                                                                                                  Web site designed & hosted by Paul Yarden © 2016 at Homestead™
Sir Thomas Lipton
Copa Lipton 1905 to 1992

The Copa Lipton trophy (also known as Copa de Caridad Lipton) was contested 29 times between Argentina and Uruguay from 1905 to 1992.
Copa America 2011 Argentina
Full details of the 43rd Copa America held in Argentina from July 1st to July 24th 2011
Copa America Argentina 2011 logo
Norberto Méndez of Argentina
South American Championship / Copa America Highest Goalscorers
Chart showing all the Copa America
Highest Goalscorers from 1916 to 2016
FIFA 2014 Brazil World Cup logo
FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014 Qualification
Full details of the CONMEBOL qualification competition for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Finals
to be held in Brazil
Copa Sudamericana logo
Copa Sudamericana Finals Stats
2000 to 2013
Chart showing all the Copa Sudamericana Finals from 2000 to 2013.
Brazil Football
Custom Search
Search My Football
Facts & Stats
Copa America 2015 Chile
Full details of the 44th Copa America held in
Chile from 11th June to 4th July 2015
Copa America 2015 Chile logo
Copa America 2016 United States
Full details of the Centennial 45th Copa America held in the United States of America
from 4th June to 26th June 2016
2016 Copa America USA