Steve Archibald
Scottish Football League Cup 1940-41 to 2015-16
Scotland's Alan Hutton
Scottish Football League Cup 1940-41 to 2015-16
The Scottish Football League Cup is open to members of the SPL and SFL, and has been contested since 1947. The Cup has its origins in a regional cup competition called the
Southern League Cup which was introduced in 1940 when wartime restrictions led to a temporary suspension of the Scottish FA Cup. This tournament was largely regional and did not involve
all of the teams who comprised the Scottish Football League prior to the outbreak of war. There is some dispute as to whether these wartime competitions are counted towards the Scottish
clubs major honours list. For example, Aberdeen insist on claiming their 1946 title. One innovative feature during this time was that tied matches were decided on by the number of
corner kicks won during the match. The 2011-12 Final was won for the first time by Kilmarnock who beat Celtic 1-0. St Mirren were also first-time winners in 2012-13, beating Hearts in the Final.
Search My Football Facts & Stats

                                                                                                     Web site designed & hosted by Paul Yarden © 2016 at Homestead™
Scottish League Cup Final 2010 programme
Celtic's Scott Brown with Rangers' Maurice Edu, Scottish League Cup Final, March 2011
Kilmarnock celebrate their 2012 Scottish League Cup win
St Mirren - 2013 Scottish Football League Cup Winners
Celtic: 2015 Scottish League Cup Winners