Israel at the 1970 World Cup Finals in Mexico
New logo of the Israel Football Association
Yossi Benayoun of Liverpool - Israel's current captain
Mordechai Spiegler of Maccabi Netanya
Israeli League Chronological 1949-50 to 1978-79
Israeli League Chronological 1949-50 to 1978-79
Nine teams started the first Israeli League in 1932. The first winner of the league were the British Police who, under the guidance of Police Chief Speiser, were the best
organized club in the country. Later he would serve as the first chairman of the Israeli Football Association.
Thirteen teams took part in the first Football League after Israel gained its independence. Maccabi Tel Aviv won the 1949-50 championship.
There were no League competitions in 1950-51, 1952-53 and 1966-67.
12 clubs competed in the Top Flight of the Israeli League but there were 16 teams from season 2009-10 onwards.

                                                                                              Web site designed & hosted by Paul Yarden © 2013 at Homestead™
Football 365 link to site
Share |
Search My Football Facts & Stats